South Louisiana Field Report

South Louisiana Field Director, Colin Miller

Dear members and supporters,

I began working as the Southern Field Director in March of 2010. I remember my first day, where I met Randy Evans at the State Capitol and he walked me through the halls of  committee rooms and introduced me to some of our allies in the legislature. My subsequent visits to the capitol were not quite as pleasant, as I witnessed first hand the nonsense and vitriol that pours from the mouths of Gene Mills and the Louisiana Family Forum’s on-call attack squad of homophobic preachers. During those moments in the Senate committee room, sitting beside my Forum friends, I caught a glimpse of one of the worst sides of human nature, the one that seeks to accumulate and maintain power through the singling-out and subjugation of minority groups and vulnerable populations.

After a few successes and disappointments during the 2010 session, I began my efforts to grow the Forum For Equality’s base of support in Baton Rouge, Lafayette and Lake Charles. Our friends in Lake Charles Pride and Capitol City Alliance of Baton Rouge have built incredible organizations in their own cities, and are doing the hard work of educating their neighbors and arranging events. I look forward to collaborating with them in the coming months. I also look forward to working with OUTlaw and Spectrum of LSU and GLASS of UL Lafayette. I am always impressed when I see young students with the passion and drive to unite our community and to create a safe, supportive environment for their LGBT friends and colleagues.

To read more from Colin Miller’s Field Report, click here.

About Forum For Equality

The Forum For Equality is a statewide human rights organization dedicated to the establishment of a society free from discrimination and to the support of good government. We believe that the fastest and most efficient way to achieve these goals is to educate our communities and to constructively participate in the political process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

