I am a patriot

From Forum For Equality Louisiana Vice Chair, Mary Griggs

Mary Griggs

(c) by Mary Griggs

I’ve always been a patriot.

Raised in a military family, I saw the price we pay for freedom. I still get chills and teary when I hear Taps and I immediately climb to my feet when I hear the National Anthem. I look forward to the fireworks on the 4th of July because I believe that we were created equal and are all entitled to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

flagsThis year, I have even more reason to be proud of my country and to celebrate the promise of her principles on her birthday.

We aren’t done with the fight, not by a long shot, but we got a little bit closer with the decisions from the Supreme Court on marriage equality.

Predictably, as soon as the opinions were passed down, the religious extremists and the politicians who pander to them warned of…

View original post 386 more words

About Forum For Equality

The Forum For Equality is a statewide human rights organization dedicated to the establishment of a society free from discrimination and to the support of good government. We believe that the fastest and most efficient way to achieve these goals is to educate our communities and to constructively participate in the political process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

